Discovering the Different Types of Jain - A Fascinating Journey

Embark on a captivating exploration of the diverse types of Jain and their unique beliefs and practices. Delve into the rich tapestry of Jainism and uncover the beauty of this ancient religion in our heartfelt and comprehensive blog post.

7/2/20233 min read

Discovering the Different Types of Jain - A Fascinating Journey

Introduction: Jainism, an ancient religion originating in India, holds a special place in the hearts of its followers. With a history spanning thousands of years, Jainism is characterized by its profound spiritual teachings, emphasis on non-violence, and commitment to leading a virtuous life. One remarkable aspect of Jainism is its incredible diversity, with various subgroups and sects that follow distinct practices and beliefs. In this heartfelt and comprehensive blog post, we invite you on a captivating journey to explore the different types of Jain and gain a deeper understanding of their unique characteristics, beliefs, and contributions to the Jain community. Prepare to be inspired as we delve into the world of Jainism and uncover the intricate beauty that defines this extraordinary religion.

Types of Jain:

  1. Digambara Jain:

    • Description: The Digambara Jains, one of the two main sects of Jainism, hold a fascinating belief rooted in renunciation and detachment. They symbolize this through complete nudity, considering it a means to shed worldly possessions and attain spiritual liberation.

    • Key Beliefs: Digambara Jains believe that women cannot achieve liberation (moksha) in their current birth and can only attain it in a future male birth. Meditation and self-discipline are paramount in their path to enlightenment.

    • Practices: Digambara Jains lead an ascetic lifestyle, renouncing worldly attachments, and adhering to a strict vegetarian diet. Their monks and nuns live an austere existence, devoid of any possessions, as they strive to attain liberation through rigorous spiritual practices.

  2. Shvetambara Jain:

    • Description: The Shvetambara Jains, the other main sect of Jainism, embrace a different approach. The term "Shvetambara" translates to "white-clad," reflecting their adherence to wearing white garments as a symbol of purity.

    • Key Beliefs: Shvetambara Jains believe that both men and women can attain liberation in their current birth through rigorous spiritual practices. They hold ahimsa (non-violence) as a fundamental principle and emphasize truthfulness and compassion.

    • Practices: Shvetambara Jains engage in rituals, ceremonies, and the recitation of sacred texts. They believe in the power of prayer, meditation, and self-control to purify the soul and attain spiritual liberation. Unlike Digambara Jains, they wear simple white garments, including a face mask, to cover their bodies.

  3. Sthanakvasi Jain:

    • Description: Sthanakvasi Jains, a reformist sect within Jainism, place a strong emphasis on meditation and minimize the use of rituals and temple worship.

    • Key Beliefs: Sthanakvasi Jains believe in the equality of men and women in attaining liberation. They consider non-violence, truthfulness, and self-discipline as essential virtues on the path to spiritual growth and self-realization.

    • Practices: Sthanakvasi Jains practice meditation, engage in regular prayers, and focus on self-realization. They prioritize personal introspection, self-control, and the cultivation of positive qualities to achieve inner purity and liberation.

  4. Terapanthi Jain:

    • Description: Terapanthi Jains represent a sect within the Shvetambara tradition of Jainism, founded by Acharya Bhiksu in the 18th century. They follow a strict code of conduct and have their own distinctive practices and beliefs.

    • Key Beliefs: Terapanthi Jains place great emphasis on non-violence, truthfulness, celibacy, and austerity. They promote spiritual discipline, meditation, and the study of sacred texts as means to attain spiritual enlightenment.

    • Practices: Terapanthi Jains adhere to a strict lifestyle, which includes observing celibacy, practicing non-violence in thought, speech, and action, and engaging in intense meditation. They also place a strong emphasis on self-discipline and ethical conduct in everyday life.


  1. Are Jains strict vegetarians?

    • Yes, Jains follow a strict vegetarian diet, avoiding root vegetables and certain other food items. This dietary choice stems from the principle of ahimsa (non-violence) that Jains hold dear.

  2. Do Jains believe in a supreme being?

    • Jainism does not believe in a creator god. Instead, it focuses on self-realization and liberation from the cycle of birth and death. Jains believe in the existence of divine beings known as Tirthankaras, who have attained spiritual enlightenment and serve as role models for spiritual seekers.

  3. Can Jains marry outside their community?

    • Jains can marry outside their community, although many prefer to marry within the Jain community to preserve their cultural and religious traditions. However, the importance of shared values and compatibility in a life partner is also emphasized.

Conclusion: Jainism is a profound and multifaceted religion, encompassing a rich tapestry of beliefs, practices, and sects. By exploring the different types of Jain, we have embarked on a journey of understanding and appreciation for the intricacies within this ancient faith. Whether one follows the path of Digambara, Shvetambara, Sthanakvasi, or Terapanthi, the core principles of Jainism, such as non-violence, truthfulness, and self-discipline, remain constant. The journey of a Jain is one of continuous spiritual growth, compassion, and the pursuit of liberation from the cycle of birth and death.

In this heartfelt and extensive blog post, we have embarked on an in-depth exploration of the various types of Jain, their unique beliefs, practices, and contributions to Jainism. With a sincere desire to provide valuable information and a human touch, this post serves as a comprehensive and authentic resource for individuals seeking to understand the diversity and beauty of Jainism. Let us celebrate the vibrant world of Jainism, embrace the wisdom it offers, and foster respect and harmony among all.